Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Jeremiah, Part 12

When I am weak, then I am strong

In this episode, we look at Jeremiah, chapters 19 and 20.

A great way to gain greater understanding of the Bible is to look at interlinear resources. These are books and websites that give you the Biblical texts in their original languages (Hebrew in the case of the Old Testament and Greek in the case of the New Testament), with literal translations and valuable background information for every word. Here are links to online interlinear tools for the two chapters we cover in this episode:
Jeremiah 19
Jeremiah 20

Here’s a simple genealogy of the kings of Israel and Judah.

The main commentary used in this episode is: Commentary on Jeremiah by Theodore Laetsch.

The Dietrich Bonhoeffer poem, Who Am I?, written while he was held by the Nazis during World War 2, is found in the edition of his classic, The Cost of Discipleship, that I’ve owned for many years. A good biography of Bonhoeffer is Till the Night Be Past.

If you’re looking for a church home, check out the congregational directories of the North American Lutheran Church and Lutheran Congregations in Mission for Christ.

Please consider subscribing to my podcast and the other things I post on Substack. Subscriptions are free. If you choose a paid subscription, it will help me buying materials I use to prepare for each episode and, I hope eventually, purchase technology that will let me improve the quality of the podcast. Thanks to the folks who already subscribe.

Discussion about this podcast

Mark Daniels
Route 66: A Journey Through the Bible
A brief introduction to our podcast journey through the sacred 66.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mark
Recent Episodes